A good book

IMG_9570

This summer I made it a point to read as much as I could. At the end of last semester I felt like the textbooks I had devoured all year had actually made me dislike reading. So I made it a point to find my way back to my love for reading, and I really did.

Among other good reads, I picked up “The Cuckoo’s Calling” by Roberth Galbraith. As we all know by now, Robert Galbraith is actually J. K. Rowling. And this made me a little bit apprehensive about reading this book. I have read – and loved – all of the Harry Potter books. I find Rowlings way of writing so easy to read, and she has a unique way of making the reader feel like they’re taking part of the story. I was worried that I would be caught up in the fact that Rowling was the author, and that the fact that I knew her as a writer would cloud my vision while reading. Well, I was so wrong. Three pages in and I forgot all about Rowling – or the author at all, actually. In true Rowling style I completely fell into the story, and Cormoran Strike – the main character.

“The Cuckoo’s Calling” is a crime fiction unlike any other. I love crime, but I read a lot of scandinavian crime. They are often very fast reads and the crime plot becomes the main focus. In “The Cuckoo’s Calling” the whole story; the crime, the investigation, Cormoran and everyone else, is completely captivating. Even if you’re not a big reader, I would suggest that you try out this one. It’s truly an amazing book, and you get a fantastic experience as a reader. It really made me excited about reading, and it’s the first time in a long time that I have finished a book in a matter of days.

Leave a Reply

