The Naked Basics

nakedbasics

 

As I mentioned earlier this week, I find myself in a bit of an eye makeup rut these days – one that I quite like! For the next few weeks I am forced to change it all up, as you can see on my Instagram. But in the post about my current eyeshadow look, I mentioned the Urban Decay Nakes Basics palette (such a long name, for such a short palette!). It really is such a good one to have in your collection, and it’s perfect for traveling. The first two shades, Venus and Foxy, are not my faves as you can see by the obvious lack of dent. Venus is a white frost, and I am not a fan of white for highlight. I much prefer a warmer, golden tone. Foxy is too yellow for me to use as a base, but I sometimes use it to highlight the browbone if the rest of the look is sparkly. The third one is quite clearly my much loved one, W.O.S. Such a good base with its more pinky tone, and velvet-like application. The Naked 2 is a staple crease colour for me, and if I want a little more dramatic definition I add Faint in the outer corner. These blend very good together, if you take some extra time to really work them in! Crave is a true black, and I love using this as my liner with a angled precision brush (the Sigma E65 is perfect for this job).

All in all this is a really good basic palette, if you like me prefer matte colours for everyday. I do often add some All that glitters – or a random blush, like the Nars Deep Throat – on the lid for some everyday sparkle. This palette is perfect for traveling, and quick application as the shadows stay all day even without a primer underneath. I would recommend some patience when it comes to blending, as these matte shadows take their time to warm up. A really good staple palette, and perfect if you’re starting out with shadows.

Leave a Reply

